BLOG TOUR: Lisa Suzanne - Separation Anxiety

10/02/2014 19:50

Separation Banner

 

Sep

Title: Separation Anxiety

Author: Lisa Suzanne

Release Date: February 3, 2014

Hosted by: Between the Sheets Promotions

 

Separation.

We all get one true love in our lives, and it’s up to us to find it. Fate will act and try to push us together, but ultimately it’s up to us to recognize who that one person is when he’s standing in front of us.

 

It turns out that I recognized who my one person was when I was separated from my husband.

 

Anxiety.

On the same day I determined that I was finally going to file for divorce, I confessed my secret to Jesse Drake, my swoon-worthy colleague known for his womanizing ways. Jesse invited me to crash with him, and with each new piece of the enigmatic Jesse puzzle that I started to fit into place, I found myself wondering if Fate had pushed us together for a reason.

 

If only my husband would stop getting in the way of the man with whom I was meant to be.

 

 

The Romance Vault's Verdict: ♥♥♥♥ Romance loving hearts.

I received an ARC of this in return for an honest review.

 

This is the 1st book I’ve read by this author and I have to say am I am impressed with the deliverance of Veronica and Jesse’s story.

 

This is what I class as a slow burn romance.  The crux of the story is Veronica’s separation from her husband Richard.  They have grown apart and have been separated for the past year although they live under the same roof, she hardly ever speaks to him and has kept this separation a secret from everybody.  This story revolves around the feelings of thinking you’re a failure for the crumbling of your marriage, keeping it to yourself for so long and then finally taking the steps to be free and move out and move on.  Having parents that wouldn’t ever dream of the 'D' word as in divorce, Veronica has dealt with the failure of her marriage herself until one night when she lets Jesse know that’s she going to file for divorce.  He’s shocked and instantly offers a friendly shoulder to lean on and tells Veronica he’ll help her any way he can.  Their friendship soon leads to feelings running deeper and then her ex decides he cannot let her go.  This is in part what keeps you hooked, as you watch their relationship grown and expand between them wondering about what may or may not happen and will he, won’t he and the same for her will she, won’t she?

 

The whole story revolves around Veronica’s time waiting for her divorce to come through.  Richard tries to halt their divorce but this is not a forefront part of their story.  I would say it’s about finding that happy place and knowing that you’re doing the right thing, finding love when you honestly were not expecting it and then having to deal with jealousies and find yourself anxiously waiting for it to all come good, because surely it will?

 

This book is sexy, it does contain adult situations but they are few and far between, this focuses more on the emotions and getting to know someone on a level outside of the bedroom and staying true and doing the right thing.

 

All in all a lovely, slow paced romance, that has all the ingredients to deliver a pleasant read.  If you’re after action packed and lots of sex then this book is not going to hit the right spot for you.  But if you’re after gentle, relationship building sweet scenarios then you’ll love this.

sep teaser 1

 

About The Author

 

Lisa Suzanne is a high school English teacher who lives at home in Arizona with her amazing husband and adorable yellow lab. She loves summer more than her students do. She has loved to write for as long as she can remember.

 

Web

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

We headed back out, and my heart did a little flip flop and my breath got stuck somewhere in my esophagus when I saw Jesse stretch in his chair, the hem of his shirt rising up just a little to reveal the bottom of what looked like a perfect washboard stomach. I thought I spotted some ink, too, but it was hard to tell from my quick glance. But a tattoo? On Jesse Drake? Yes please.

I was in serious trouble.

“Jesus Christ,” Quinn said, apparently having spotted the same sight as me. She sighed. “Too bad I don’t sleep where I work, or I’d have to give that a try,” she said. Funny how the one limit she set was the one thing I was suddenly obsessing over.

I settled back into my chair. Jesse draped his arm across the back of my chair and leaned in toward me. “I ordered you another,” he said, that sexy edge to his low voice back in full force. His scent invaded my senses. He wore a hint of some sort of masculine cologne that was fresh and reminded me of Christmas at the same time. It smelled like winter and pine and sex.

“Thanks,” I managed, tucking a strand of hair behind my ear as I spotted a fresh drink in front of me. I took a sip. “Single or double?”

“Double,” he said, a scandalous smile spreading across his features.

“Are you trying to get me drunk?” I asked, pressing the boundaries just a little further than I probably should have and definitely a little further than I would have if I was sober.

Sep teaser 2

a Rafflecopter giveaway