RELEASE BLITZ - Amity Cross - Unexpected (Unexpected #1)

04/02/2014 14:32

unexpected

 

1Unexpected_ebook

Title: Unexpected (Unexpected #1)

Author: Amity Cross

Genre: Erotic Romance

Release Date: February 1, 2014

Hosted by: Between the Sheets Promotions

add-to-goodreads-button31

Blair is looking for an escape.

 

West is looking for a connection.

 

One down and out woman. One isolated rock star. Life at the top is lonely, but so is life at the bottom.

 

Blair is just looking for someone to take the edge off her crappy life. Dull the pain, breathe a little life into her neglected body. A chance meeting at a bar leads to a night of passion. No names, no personal details. Just sex.

Well, it wasn't personal until she sees the guy standing on a stage ten meters in front of her. How the hell didn't she realize that the guy who blew her mind is the guitarist out of that dirty rock'n'roll band, Affliction? And why is he chasing her down the street? And how does he know her name?

 

Sometimes you find the things you didn't even know you were looking for in the most unexpected places.

Amazon US | Amazon UK

UnexpectedTeaser3

 

Untitled

Amity Cross isn't my real name. That's no secret.

 

I didn't want my Mum and my workplace to find out I wrote about doodles and tongue-in-cheek sexual innuendo.

 

I live in a leafy suburb of Melbourne writing about screwed up relationships and kick ass female leads that don't take s**t lying down.

 

Insert more pretentious c**p here.

Website/Blog | Twitter | Facebook | GoodReads | Newsletter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

I received an ARC in return for an honest review.

I am flitting between 3.50, 3.75 and even 4.00

So if you're like me you like to sink your teeth into a story so I am sorry to say I found this book far too short. I kinda wish the author had waited and released all three books in one go, the only thing I'm happier about is book 2 is coming in April so it's not too long a wait for a change.

Now let's talk Characters. I found it very hard to like Blair at the start, she's too in your face, argumentative, feisty, smart mouthed and generally a tad unpleasant.  It's not till further into their story she redeems herself a fair bit and you find out why she's like she is and why she pushes everyone away.  Her vulnerability begins to surface and she now makes you want to know more about her.

West, well he's your average muscled, tattoo clad rockstar but he's had his own troubles in the past. His overuse of drugs and his massive overuse of women send him into a downward spiral and he ends up at rock bottom. He meets Blair at a time when he's been off drugs, woman and manages drinking like an average person, in other words he's avoiding his addictive tendancies. So that's leaves you thinking does he want Blair because of his addictive personality or is it deeper. This makes you want to read on.

 

There is one thing about this book it uses the F bomb like we need to take a breath for air - in other words; alot.  It's a tad overkill but it doesn't really bother me but I can imagine it bothering some.  It's not just West either, it literally spews from everyone, it's pretty constant.

 

Overall I did enjoy their story, once I warmed to Blair the story took off for me, my only biggest niggle is the length - sorry, harping on about that but I sure wish it had been a proper novel length.

 

So to get a better picture of why I couldn't pin my rating down see how I'm rating it below:-

Characters:
Blair - 1 to start and rose to 3.50
West - 4.00
Chemistry - 3.00 to 3.50
Heat Factor 4.50
Storyline 3.75
Language 3.00 (slightly excessive)
Visualisation 4.00
Waffle 5.00 I didn't feel this waffled at all - yay!!

I am hooked enough to want read on and want to know what happens in book 2 and I am very grateful that the release date for book 2 is soon as far as series release dates go, we've only got to wait till April for the next part of their story.